Blogger #3: best for last?

Hey lovelies! This is Sue, the owner and head Yarn Pusher here at Lovelyarns.

daughter Hallie and me at Honfest 2010

daughter Hallie and me at Honfest 2010

I am thrilled to be a contributor to this blog, and will be adding occasional random thoughts and funny bits. I will leave the serious blogging to Jayne and Elinor.                                         When I started my tiny little shop in 2006, I never in my wildest dreams thought it would grow to be such a vibrant community of crafters, not to mention such a successful retail shop!

About me:  I have a husband and 2 kids who I adore, (and will probably post more photos of them than of me.)              Everyone asks when I started knitting, and I’m afraid the answer is I don’t really know!  I remember my mom teaching me, but I think I was only around 6 at the time. So yes, I have been knitting for a long, long time.

Alex models a sweater I knit for Bob in 1988!

Alex models a sweater I knit for Bob in 1988!

I’ve been through knitting phases, using what was available at the time: making ugly acrylic colorwork sweaters in the 1980’s, synthetic hairy scarves with sequins and funky baby sweaters in the 90’s, then onto natural fibers at last! Luckily for me, there are finally so many delicious natural fibers out there to choose from that I hope the things I’m knitting now will stay stylish for years to come. Besides knitting, I also love to cook and bake. Mostly breads and cakes, which is how I keep my zaftig figure. So recipes may appear here from time to time: especially from Smitten Kitchen. I also love to sew, and made most of my daughter Hallie’s dresses when she was little.

You probably know how much I love yarnbombing, especially big silly projects. The golf cart cozy I’m working on for ArtScape right now is coming along wonderfully. Photos coming in July.

What’s on my needles right this minute:

several projects, as always. The one I’m really putting time into is Dreambird, 

Dreambird shawl

Dreambird shawl

using a short-row technique called “swing knitting” and old yarn from my stash. (not available at the shop! But this would make up so beautifully in Zauberball.)

About lovelyarnsue

Yarn pusher at Baltimore's coolest yarn shop
This entry was posted in Artscape, staff bios, what's on the needles, yarnbombing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blogger #3: best for last?

  1. Sue CC says:

    I love it and want to start one right now!

    Like

    • Elinor says:

      Ask Sue for the revised pattern! The Dreambird originally comes with 14 pages of rambly navel gazing, but Sue took out all the blah blah blah and cut it down to 2 pages. Could save you a world and a half of brain power. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

