Meet Lovely Blogger #2

Me in front of wall of goodness at Rohrspatz & Wollmeise inPfaffenhofen, Germany

Me in front of wall of goodness at Rohrspatz & Wollmeise in Pfaffenhofen, Germany

Hi, there.  I’m Jayne and following Elinor, I’m contributor #2 to Lovelyarns’ new blog. I came across Lovelyarns one day long ago when the shop had its start on the upper floor of the rowhouse on 36th Street. I immediately loved Sue whose smile and love of yarn just drew me in. It helped that she is also former New Yorker!

My maternal grandmother taught me to knit when I was a child. I remember kdaisynitting scarves and ponchos. One summer, sometime in the late ’60s, my best friend and I made matching knitted hand bags. They sported a huge intarsia daisy on the front and back panels. Anyone else remember back when daisies were a major design theme?

I put knitting aside for a few decades while I explored other needle arts such as sewing, needlepoint, counted cross stitch and rug hooking. I came back to knitting about 12 years ago. Wondering if I still knew how to do it, I found a pair of size 10 single points and headed to Jo-Ann’s to pick up some cheap Lion Brand yarn. If I made a mess of it, I figured I wouldn’t be wasting money on “good” yarn. I whipped up a simple shawl and rediscovered my love for knitting. Now I only use “good” yarn.

I love knitting socks. My family can count on a gift of socks every Christmas. Shawls are also a favorite. I’ve made many a baby sweater, but never an adult size. That’s the next challenge. My current WIPS are: Soleil made with Berroco Fuji that I, of course, purchased at Lovelyarns and Wollmeise Sock made with Tofutsies from my stash.

In the past I’ve taught knitting classes at work and have been a member of a neighborhood knit nite for a number of years.  This summer I will be teaching the Sock Class at Lovelyarns. When not knitting, I am a marketing communications consultant.

This entry was posted in beginner classes, staff bios, what's on the needles. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meet Lovely Blogger #2

  1. Pingback: Blogger #3: best for last? | Lovelyarns

Leave a Reply

