Blogger #1 takes the stage

Hey lovelies! Lovelyarns is entering the 21st century and getting ourselves a blog. This is Elinor, contributor #1. You might know me from the store on weekends or Mondays, the knit-along, or from sock classes across the years.

I learned to knit three times before it stuck, but then I was out of the gate at a dead run, knitting ugly mittens and weird stuffed toys. For a while I went to a knitting group that met at a Panera on York Road, and one night in 2006 Sue came waltzing in with news of her new yarn store. I was, at the time, vainly attempting to knit one sock inside the other, and she was instantly impressed. I started teaching the toe-up sock class a few months later.

Through high school I continued to teach and work at the shop on busy days, until I up and went away to college. I got a BA in Anthropology from Haverford College in Pennsylvania, and came back to Baltimore for good in May of 2012. I had a long sock-knitting phase that saw me through 50 (not kidding) pairs of hand-knit socks, but I have moved on into an extended garter-stitch-and-lace-shawl epoch.

Currently on my needles is a Monkey Sock out of a new sock yarn by Feederbrook Farm. It’s a superwash merino/silk/nylon blend, 119g (4oz) and ~450 yards that retails at $22. It’s so smooth and shiny! I’ve worked with wool/plant fiber blends before and found them kind of slippery with not a lot of bounce, but this yarn is really nice to work with: soft and springy and yummy all around.

lovelymonkey

Other cool stuff about me: I have a second job working as an office manager for a company in Waverly that makes custom concrete countertops; I am a Charm City Roller Girl (my skater name is “Seductive Reasoning” – but don’t look for me on the track just yet because I’m just “fresh meat,” or a baby skater will no skills); I’m an aspiring novelist with a few short stories under my belt.

baby elinor teaches socks

Baby!Elinor teaches sock knitting at 846

This entry was posted in staff bios, what's on the needles. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blogger #1 takes the stage

  1. Pingback: Blogger #3: best for last? | Lovelyarns

Leave a Reply

